Yellow Cap’s new album is coming this month

This year, the German band Yellow Cap celebrates its 20th anniversary. On 30 November, the band's jubilee album will be released by one of the most famous European ska label, Pork Pie.

Continue reading ▾

Yellow Cap was founded in Görlitz, Germany, in 1998. The band was a pioneer of ska music in his hometown. In their music you can also hear the influences from different styles like reggae, soul, funk, latin, rocksteady and jazz. So far, Yellow Cap released five albums, various singles and countless gigs far form Poland to Brazil! The band has played in Poland about 10 times. For the first time in 2000 in Zgorzelec at Marleyki 2000; later they performed, among others, in Lubsko, Szklarska Poręba and Sosnowiec. A week ago, the band played a really great, energetic concert at Gdańsk Ska Jamboree.

The new album, called Too Fucked To Go, comes with 14 songs, recorded in the band’s own LBUM Studio and in Berlin’s Tonbrauerei. The album is promoted by a single and a music video for the title track released in April.

The title track of the album proves that even at the age of 20 you do not have to be mature or reasonable. A small pub packed with people in high spirits, the music way too loud and nobody is thinking about – or even capable of – going home: you’re just too fucked to go!

It presents a return to the origins of European ska in England, without missing the playfulness and openness also inherent in other styles of music. The sound has become rougher, more genuine – announces the band.

In terms of the lyrics the band makes a clear statement on cosmopolitanism in their refugee hymn Safe & Sound, but also sing about love, boxing matches and, of course, parties. Already in the very first song Better Man hell is let loose and it makes you want to hear more. You’ll find catchy tunes like Too Fucked To Go and Rain Is Falling next to other powerful uptempo tracks, some poppy or tradska-like songs or the wonderful reggae instrumental of the famous crime comedy Thème de Fantomas – even the excited Louis de Funes would chill out on this one.

The album cover was designed by the very gifted Brazilian artist Shairon Lacerda a.k.a. Shiron the Iron. Check out his other works on tumbIr.


  1. Better Man
  2. Beachboys Dream
  3. One More Night In Rio
  4. Too Fucked To Go
  5. Safe & Sound
  6. You Need To Know
  7. God Knows
  8. Ain’t Enough Flowers
  9. Rookie
  10. Thème De Fantomas
  11. Rain Is Falling
  12. Behind The Stars
  13. Bittersweet Candy

Too Fucked To Go will be available on CD and also in a strictly limited LP edition in a luxury foldable sleeve including a free mp3 download code. Release party will take place on the December 15 at Scheune, Dresden, Germany.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *